top of page
HWWS_NO_Logo-01.png

HWWS WebTV News

Search
Writer's pictureWillow Skylor

Gilbert Gottfried, beloved comedian, loving father and husband, dead at 67.


That was the last headline that I expected to read today. I thought that his iconic voice would continue to annoy us for the next 20 some odd years. I loved him in Aladdin as Iago, that role, I felt, was perfect for him. His comedy (described as crude and often insensitive) was not my taste in comedy, I did find him somewhat funny at times when he was making fun of other celebrities during a roast or the way he described certain situations that could be relatable. When he was understandably fired from being the spokesman of Aflac in 2011, I felt like there was no way someone else was able to do that voice justice. Now I will always feel like something is missing when I hear Aflac shouted.

In my last foster home, we had taken in a set of twin boys. One of whom looked very much like Gilbert Gottfried. Which I wonder now (and it's been 20 years since I moved out), does he still look like him? Or did he grow into his looks to be a bit more distinguished? Would have been cool to see the two meet each other’s doppelganger, but the space time continuum obviously had other plans.


Social media is flooded with memories and tributes to the comedian, Gottfried’s picture posing with fellow comedians Louie Anderson and Bob Saget is being shared in circulation amongst the tributes. I can’t help but feel like it’s almost surreal that the three amigos have died, they were all a huge part of my childhood.


Gottfried died Tuesday afternoon of Recurrent Ventricular Tachycardia due to Myotonic Dystrophy type II, an illness that causes the muscles to tense, and weaken. It is unclear if he had talked openly about his illness, though I’m sure there will be more details to come. Gottfried is survived by his wife Dara Kravitz, his sister Karen, his 14 year old daughter Lily, and 12 year old son Max. May he rest peacefully amongst the cosmos.

Willow Skylor

HWWS Program Director

72 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page